The Buddha

First sermon of buddha

This is about the First Sermon of Buddha. After the Enlightenment, the Buddha was dwelling at the foot of a banyan tree by the bank of the Neranjana River. This following thought aroused in his mind on the sermon.

“This is the only way that Leeds to the attainment of purity, to the overcoming of sorrow and lamentation. To the end of pain and grief, to the entering of the right path to the realization of Nibbana“. For that the only way is, “the four foundations of Mindfulness”.

The heavenly king Brahma sahampati, understood the Buddha’s thought at the time. He appeared in front of the Buddha by vanishing from the Brahma realm. He invited Buddha to preached his teachings to the world. In an Esala poya day Buddha stein motion the wheel of truth (Dhamma) at Isipathana which come to be known as “Dhammachakkapawattana”. It was the occasion when Buddha preached his first sermon on his five ascetic friends Kondanna, Baddiya, Vappa, Mahanama and Assaji, precisely two month after his Enlightenment. On this memorable day the Buddha’s Sasana (dispensation) came into existence and then spread around the world. The Buddha taught that in order to purify the mind we must contemplate the four Noble Truths. Which are,

  1. The Suffering
  2. The Cause of Suffering
  3. The Cessation of Suffering  &
  4. The way leading to Cessation of Suffering.

In every one’s life, The Noble truth of Suffering is the fact of daily life. It may be physical or psychological, direct or indirect. This fact, the existence of Suffering in every one’s life forms the Bose for Buddha’s teachings.

The Four Noble Truths of suffering namely;


1. The Suffering

 Birth is suffering, Old age is suffering, Illness is suffering, Death is suffering, Association with the unpleasant is suffering, Dissociation from the pleasant is suffering. If our wishes do not come to true, that too is suffering.


2. The Cause of Suffering

 Whenever there is greed which causes becoming in the next world, consisting of passionate delight, finding pleasure in this or that, to greed for sensual pleasures, greed for become greed for non-becoming


3. The Cessation of Suffering 

Of that very greed itself, that extinction, which come through complete detachment, giving up, complete abandonment, release, and non-attachment.


4. The way leading to Cessation of Suffering

The noble eight path to right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness & concentration.

In order to overcome suffering one has to work patiently and persistently on the Eight-Fold path. Which forms the Fourth noble truth, and gradual progress of ending suffering as taught by the Buddha. This noble eight path is divided into three sections as SEELA, SAMADHI & PRAJNA. The suffering is not confined to any one particular Status, Caste, Color, Gender, Region, Religion or Nation. It is an universal truth and hence the remedy too must be universal. Further, the path of Seela, Samadhi & Prajna, which has no trace of any sectarianism is the Universal remedy for the ills of the world called suffering.


Seela, Samadhi & Prajna

In Seela (Morality), it is the necessary to have complete control every one’s own mind. The mind should be fully restrained and disciplined for this it is necessary to practice Samadhi (Concentration). Practicing only Seela without Samadhi is like standing only one leg. Like that, without Seela is like one leg hanging in air without support. On other hand it is not enough to concentrate one’s mind. It is also necessary to develop Prajna (Wisdom). Through this panya it is possible to eradicate the ingrained habit pattern of the mind that generates, multiples and accumulates Sankaras (reactions) of Raga (Lust) and Dosa (hatred) out of Moha (ignorance).

Therefore if Seela (Morality) and samadhi (concerntration) are two legs on which one stands, balances, and working then panya(wisdom) is like the eye which enables us to see things as they are , thereby avoiding the danger and leading us through the safe Noble Eight fold path.



Hence, some people are criticized the Buddha as a religious leader who had preach against the enjoyment and pleasure. But the Buddha or his Dhamma(Buddha’s teachings) cannot be challenged by any person at any point, at any time. It is a lion’s roar. When the lion roars in the jungle, no animal makes any challenging sound and they hide for life. Same like this they can’t prove the Buddha’s teachings are unchangeable because these sects are unaware of the Buddha’s absolute teaching. Without hesitation, once you refer the Dhamma, you can realize what the Truth is.

That was the first sermon of Buddha after the Enlightenment. You can learn more about the Buddhist philosophy by clicking here.Hope you in next articles. May blessings of the Triple Gem (Buddha, Dhamma & Sangha)..!

If you feel this article is important for your friends, share with them & comment below your ideas to improve this blog. it will helpful us to share these noble teachings around the world. Subscribe us via your email to get latest uploads.

Get in touch. Stay safe. May triple gems bless you..!

"To refrain from all evil, to cultivate good and cleanse one’s mind is the Buddhas’ teaching.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top